What is halal ?
Halal is a Quranic term which means lawful, permissible or legal. The opposite of Halal is Haram , which means unlawful or prohibited. Halal is a permissible and lawful act upon which no restriction exists according to Shariah Law.
what is Haram food ?
All kinds of food are considered halal except the following, which are haram:
- Swine/pork and its by-products.
- Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering.
- Animals not slaughtered in the name of Allah.
- Alcohol and all forms of intoxicating and hazardous drinks.
- Carnivorous animals, birds of prey, and land animals without external ears.
- Pests such as rats, centipedes, scorpions and other similar animals.
- Animals forbidden to be killed in Islam e.g. ants, bees, spider and woodpecker birds.
- Animals which are considered repulsive generally like lice, flies, maggots and other similar animals.
- Animals that live both on land and in water such as frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
- Blood and by-products of blood.
- Foods and drinks which contain any of the above haram ingredients or contaminated through contact with any of the above products.